Writing status update (#35)

With February now more than a week old, it’s been a week longer than I’d meant to go before giving a status report on my development of the Shine Cycle, my fantasy series-in-preparation. My last was combined with the year-end goal-setting. But now that I’ve realized that it’s been that long, here’s how the last month went.

In many previous months, I’ve lacked either time, energy or motivation, or opportunity to write or otherwise work on Shine Cycle development. This month, I’ve had time, I’ve had motivation, and I’ve had opportunity—just almost never all at the same time. So I got very little done.

When I set the goals I forgot that I would have letters, if not classwork assignments, that would demand my writing effort, which is part of why I got so little done this month.

But let’s look specifically at the goals I set for the month.

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).

My work on this was highly intermittent.

  • Write at least least three character biographies.

I managed one.

  • Do “snowflake step 2” for at least two planned novels.

I actually did two, but the second one only in the last few days.

Post at least two Shine Cycle-related post before the next status update.

Only one.. Not for lack of material, just time, motivation, and opportunity never coinciding.

Create super-sequence outlines for at least two of the “Alternate Universes” sub-series.

As with “snowflake step 2,” I did one, then only managed a second in the last few days.

  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

Nothing, as usual.

Now for the next month. I’ll again have letters to write (not that I’ve finished all the letters I should have sent by now), but I still hope they won’t be all the writing I do.

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).
  • Write at least least two character biographies.
  • Do “snowflake step 2” for at least two planned novels.
  • Post at least two Shine Cycle-related post before the next status update.
  • Create super-sequence outlines for at least one of the “Alternate Universes” sub-series.
  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

We’ll see.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.