Writing status update (#45)

It’s the second day of the Christmas season, but it’s also nearly a month and a half since my last update on my work on the Shine Cycle, my fantasy series-in-preparation. I got a good bit done, not nearly so much as I would have liked, but I was worried about stalling entirely in December, so I’m at least pleased to have avoided that. For more specifics, let’s look at the goals I had set in mid-November:

  • Write my by-now-traditional liturgical-year-end blog posts.

Done.

  • As part of “snowflake outlining,” following the guidelines for that process, create profiles of all major characters in Space and Time, Third Empire, and The Invasion.

Better than I’d feared, but not quite to this goal. I finished this for Space and Time and Third Empire, and did everything except six of the eight characters’ “paragraph summary” (that character’s thread in the story, condensed to a paragraph, which is the single most time-consuming piece of the profile for each character).

  • Create “character loglines” or “motivation summaries” for at least three characters.

Two, I think.

  • Do at least some outlining of the Reignalmia sub-series.

I think I did a little.

  • Write at least one character biography.
  • Write at least one character history.

I didn’t get to either of these.

  • Reduce the length of the part of my answers to the “Wrede questions” not yet incorporated into “background essays” (future blog posts) by at least 15%. (It currently stands at just under 1500 lines and about 36,000 words.)

Nor to this.

  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

And, as usual, this fell entirely flat.

On the other hand, I wrote more poetry in the last month than I have in that short a time in years (the “O Antiphons” paraphrases that were my way of marking Advent this year).

I’m in the process of changing my medium-range plans, as will be revealed in more detail in my year-end goal-setting post next week, but I’ll still continue on the previous trajectory in the meantime. So I’ll set much more modest goals, but still along the lines of what I’ve been doing, and change fully over to my new plan at my next report next month. Here are my goals for the next month:

  • Write year-end review and goal-setting blog posts

  • As part of “snowflake outlining,” following the guidelines for that process, finish profiles of all major characters in The Invasion and create them for at least three of the five major characters of The Alliance.

  • Create at least one character logline or motivation summary.
  • Write at least one character history.
  • Do at least some outlining of the Reignalmia sub-series.
  • Reduce the length of the part of my answers to the “Wrede questions” not yet incorporated into “background essays” (future blog posts) by at least 15%. (It currently stands at just under 1500 lines and about 36,000 words.)
  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

I hope that I can finish that much off fairly briefly and turn my writerly attention to my new approach fairly quickly, but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

