“Veni, Emmanuel”

O promised God-Among-Us, gentle Child,
Come to the nation, people, you have claimed
As your inheritance, now languishing
In bondage like unto, but worse than that
You brought them forth from long ago in might.
O hoped-for Savior even of the nations,
Rightful King, whose very word is law
Throughout the entire cosmos, earth and sky
And everywhere that light or space can run,
For you have made both wind and fire your servants—
Come, fulfil their longing; save us, Lord!

Adoration of the Shepherds by Cima da Conegliano

This is a verse expansion or meditation on the seventh and last of the O Antiphons; the first and second poems in this project appeared three and two weeks ago respectively, the third, fourth, and fifth last week, and the sixth on Thursday. This was the first one I began, as its first lines came together in my mind months ago, but when the idea for the project took shape and deadlines loomed I set it aside to work from the other Antiphons first.

I have a poem for Christmastide in progress, and may write one for Epiphany (we’ll see); after that, given my usual pace of writing, I expect to resume the schedule at most one poem every two weeks. (I am grateful to have been able to even manage that with any degree of consistency for any lengths of time this year.)

As always, I earnestly welcome your questions, suggestions, or other comments about this or any other part of my work. If you’d like to read more of my poetry, you can read my archive (also organized in more manageable installments); get my book, which contains over sixty of my best poems, each paired with a public-domain illustration or drawing; or follow this blog for (now only occasional) new poetry (among other things). You may also share this poem with others, subject to my sharing policy.

Leave a Reply

