“Psalm 13”

How long, O Sovereign Lord, will you forget?
How long will you still hide your face from me?
How long will you still leave me here in grief
To vainly wrestle with my anxious thoughts?
How long will you give victory to my foes?

Look on me with your favor, Lord my God;
Restore my life, and fill my eyes with light,
Or I shall sleep forevermore in death,
And all my enemies shall sing their boast
That they have felled and overpowered me,
And shout in joyful triumph at my death.

But I trust in your love, which never fails;
My heart delights and ever sings for joy
To know your faithful saving work, O God.
In grace you, Lord, have been so good to me
That I shall always sing to you in praise.

The Widow's Prayer by Frederic Leighton
This poem is the thirteenth in my series of verse paraphrases of the Psalms. I began this project in 2012, starting with the first Psalm, and have worked on one Psalm at a time; I began this poem soon after finishing my setting of Psalm 12, in late September, and finished it in mid-October.

As always, I earnestly welcome your comments, questions, critique, or other feedback about this or any other part of my work. If you’d like to read more of my poetry, you can read my archive (also organized in more manageable installments), follow this blog for (now only occasional) new poetry (among other things), or get my book, which contains over sixty of my best poems, each paired with a public-domain illustration or drawing. You may also share this poem with others, subject to my sharing policy.

Leave a Reply

