Writing status update (#39)

While it’s still the same month, it’s been four weeks since I last described recent progress developing developing the Shine Cycle, my fantasy series-in-preparation, so it’s time for another report.

Let’s look at my stated goals for the period:

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).

Success! In fact, I think that I need to make sure that my progress continues at a rate that is (closer to) sustainable in the long term. Non-Shine-Cycle priorities suffered this month.

  • Write at least five character biographies.

Nine.

  • Create at least one “character logline” or “motivation summary.”

Eight.

  • Do “snowflake step 2” for two planned novels.

Seven.

I more than matched my goal, but exactly how many “planned novels” I did this for depends on how one counts them. If “the Creatures stories” and the “Dratted Campaign” stories each count as one, then I did nine, but the former was set up in the task tracker as if it were three novels, and the latter as if it were four.

I also made POV assignments for [Anarchy](

Done.

  • Check at least three existing précis against more recent development to see if they need to be revised.

Six … but in each case I merely made a note to actually do the revision of the précis after I finish its next stage of outlining instead of doing the revision now.

  • Answer at least three of the remaining “Wrede questions.”

Done. Except for a few that I’ve explicitly put off until I have a good enough map, all of the questions now have some sort of answer. (Many of them are still marked as needing further development of some sort, but they have enough that I’m satisfied for the moment.) That was about five or six, if I remember correctly. The next step is to condense, and reorganize, the information elicited by the questions into blog posts.

  • Investigate points about “The Adventure of the Royal Wedding” raised by a reader years ago that have been sitting at the top of my task list (essentially) since.

This, I didn’t get to. Perhaps I need to break it up into smaller tasks. Or perhaps I’ll just make the time for it in some future month.

  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

I failed to do this. As usual.

And again (both for an additional month, and having delivered them in private already), I am grateful to my friend who writes as Aubrey Hansen for her encouragement, prodding, and help.

Now, for some goals for the next few weeks.

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).
  • Write at least two worldbuilding blog posts based on material elicited by the Wrede worldbuilding questions.
  • Write at least four character biographies.

(I’m now reaching tasks that say “check, revise, or finish biography of X”; I’ll count determining that a biography needs no revision at the moment as “writing” for this purpose.)

  • Create at least four “character loglines” or “motivation summaries.”
  • Do “snowflake step 2” for four planned novels.
  • Decide how to divide “snowflake step 3” into discrete tasks.
  • Assign point-of-view characters for at least four-fifths of New Ground
  • Check at least four existing précis against more recent development to see if they need to be revised.
  • Investigate points about “The Adventure of the Royal Wedding” raised by a reader years ago that have been sitting at the top of my task list (essentially) since.
  • Make and at least begin to implement a decision about at least two of the ideas sitting in my files unconnected with the Shine Cycle series outline.

(By “make a decision” I mean decide whether to use the idea myself, pass it on to someone else to use, or simply discard it. By “at least begin to implement” I mean that if I decide to use it myself, set up the tasks in my task tracker for further developing the story and add it to my series-outline file; if I decide to pass it on to another writer, add it to a list of ideas to post somewhere; and if I decide to get just discard it, then delete it.)

  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

We’ll see how the month goes. Do you have any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

