Writing status update (#36)

It’s been about a month since my last report on my development of the Shine Cycle, my fantasy series-in-preparation, so whether I have any progress to report or not it’s time for an update.

To sum the month up very briefly, I’ve been sick with a severe respiratory ailment for the past two and a half weeks or so, but I’ve still somehow managed to make some progress on the Shine Cycle. For more specific examples, let’s take a look at the goals I set last month.

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).

As sick as I was, getting “regular work” in on anything was impossible.

  • Write at least least two character biographies.

I actually managed three.

  • Do “snowflake step 2” for at least two planned novels.

I did manage to meet this.

  • Post at least two Shine Cycle-related post before the next status update.

And I managed this: a character profile and a précis.

  • Create super-sequence outlines for at least one of the “Alternate Universes” sub-series.

I did this for one, and I also considered and decided to discard another alternate-history idea.

  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

None.

On the other hand, I also spent some time and considerable thought working on my collection of fragmentary and unfinished poetry, and extended two poems to the point that I think they’re finished enough and presentable, except that neither has a title yet and at least one of them really needs a “real” title. I got started on this side project because I finally got the incomplete poems, Shine Cycle and Strategic Primer ideas, and collected quotes off of my AlphaSmart portable keyboard.

To sum up, I am very pleased with how much I managed to do given that I’ve scarcely had the energy to get out of bed for nearly half the month.

Now, looking forward to the next four or so weeks: I’m still recovering from this illness, and I have classwork that will demand increasing amounts of time and mental effort, but on the other hand I can hope I’ll have my strength back, and I want to get in the habit of making progress so I can get closer to finishing things faster. Thus the following goals:

  • Resume and continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).
  • Write at least least two character biographies.
  • Write at least one character history.
  • Do “snowflake step 2” for at least three planned novels.
  • Post at least two Shine Cycle-related post before the next status update.
  • Create super-sequence outlines for at least two of the “Alternate Universes” sub-series.
  • Make a good start on outlining The Counter by sequence.
  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

As I always say, we shall see.

Leave a Reply

