Shine Cycle year-end summary and writing status update

This is the last week of the year on the Christian liturgical calendar, so (as in past years) posts this week will look back over the past year on the blog. First, let’s look back at the Shine Cycle worldbuilding and other background material that’s appeared here in the past year, since last year’s year-end summary. After that, I’ll give a report on my progress since my last status update.

Retrospective

First, our look back over the year that ends this week.

Content on the blog, across all its “departments”, was fairly thin this year, after I ran out of existing material in previous years and had increased competing demands on my time this year.

Précis

I have not given up on my goal of filling out the series outline with brief introductions to every book I’m planning for the Shine Cycle, but after I finished the “main line” of the series last year that got somewhat stalled. However, I did post one more précis last month:

I have also finished one for The Counter, and will post it next week.

Characters

I also posted a handful of character profiles. This was the most common kind of Shine Cycle-related content on the blog this year, since I finally finished some character histories.

This year’s character profiles included the following:

Miscellaneous

In addition to these posts specifically about the Shine Cycle and its characters, and my “monthly” status updates, I also offered some alternate-history ideas to any interested writer, since I realized that I’m almost certainly not going to use them, and I want to read something using them.

Status Update

In the month and a half since my last status update, I’ve made more progress than I expected, but less than I’d hoped. I’ll explain by comparing my results to the goals I set in the first week of October:

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).

Here, as usual, I failed. I had a couple of highly-productive weeks, and several weeks of no work on the Shine Cycle at all.

I just managed this, making three and no more.

  • Answer at least two of the “Wrede questions” that I postponed when I went through the list a few years ago.

I answered two with as full an answer as I generally do (which isn’t as much as I’d like), and a third with a highly cursory answer.

  • Write loglines for at least one of the planned stories that doesn’t have them yet.

Failure, partly (but only partly) excused because that didn’t come up in my task tracker.

  • Do “snowflake step 2” for at least one planned novel.

This I managed, though only for one (The Invasion, by the way).

  • Write at least two character histories and at least one character biography.

Failure, but partial credit: I wrote one biography and sketched but didn’t finish one history.

  • Post at least two Shine Cycle-related post before the next status update.

The period since my last writing status post has seen the most Shine Cycle-related posts all year: two character profiles and one précis.

  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

Utter failure here, as usual: schoolwork took all of my “actual writing”

I plan to combine my next “writing status update” with my civil-year-end summary, at the end of December. In that time, I plan to attempt and hope to accomplish something like the following goals:

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).
  • Write at least two character histories and at least one character biography.
  • Do “snowflake step 2” for at least one planned novel.
  • Post at least two Shine Cycle-related post before the next status update.
  • Create super-sequence outlines for at least two of the “Alternate Universes” sub-series.
  • Answer at least two of the “Wrede questions” that I postponed when I went through the list a few years ago.
  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

As always, we’ll see. Until then, do you have any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

