Writing status update (#34)

It’s been about a month and a half since my last update, and while I’ve had a couple of productive weeks in that time, the vast majority of my creative effort and attention has been demanded by classwork, even more than I’d expected. I had hoped to … but I should go through the goals I set in mid-August point by point, instead of repeating myself first

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).

I didn’t manage regular progress at all; having the time for any development at all felt like a major victory.

I did this for two.

  • Answer at least two of the “Wrede questions” that I postponed when I went through the list a few years ago.

Success: I got through two, but only two.

  • Write loglines for at least two of the planned stories that don’t have them yet.

I didn’t do this for even one. But this is partly because no logline-creation task came up in my task tracker. (They are in the same “slot” in the rotation as the Wrede questions.)

  • Do “snowflake step 2” for at least one planned novel.

Close: The one task of this type that came up was for Space and Time, which I expect to split and so want to plan for in multiple parts; I set up (and scheduled for what will probably be years from now) the tasks for doing that.

  • Write at least two character histories and at least one character biography.

I wrote one character history and one biography, though I have also sketched out a second history that is waiting for me to sit down with the timeline spreadsheet.

  • Finish the Alliance précis I’ve been postponing for a couple of years now

I finally finished it. You’ll see it in this space later this month.

  • Post at least one Shine Cycle-related post before the next status update.

I’d hoped to manage this, but I should have posted this update weeks ago anyway.

  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

As usual, I didn’t manage this.

Now, for the next several weeks.

I expect I’ll want to combine my monthly status report with my year-end retrospective (which will, as usual, come at the end of the liturgical year, the week before Advent), so these goals are for a period of about a month and a half. But I also expect classwork to continue to demand my time and attention, and I should spend more time in advance on seasonal blog posts, so I can’t set my sights too high.

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).
  • Create super-sequence outlines for three of the “Alternate Universes” sub-series.
  • Answer at least two of the “Wrede questions” that I postponed when I went through the list a few years ago.
  • Write loglines for at least one of the planned stories that doesn’t have them yet.
  • Do “snowflake step 2” for at least one planned novel.
  • Write at least two character histories and at least one character biography.
  • Post at least two Shine Cycle-related post before the next status update.
  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

As always, we’ll see how reality matches up to those goals.

Leave a Reply

