Writing Status Update (#31)

It has been again not quite two months since my last update. For once, these weeks have been both productive and almost-consistently so, and not too much at the expense of other priorities either … just so busy I haven’t had time or attention to spare to compare that progress to my goals.

Most notably in Shine Cycle development, I finally finished outlining The Longest War by sequence. The other “milestone” is that I finished my pass through the first phase of fractalling Imperial culture, though it turned out I was closer to the end than I’d thought, so that was more “so little left to do” than “so productive a month.”

But before I get myself even more off track, let’s look at how I fared against the goals I set back in March:

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).

I’ll count this as “almost, and close enough.”

  • Outline at least the rest of The Longest War by sequence.

Done. Though I got no farther than that.

  • In fractalling the culture of the Empire and the Sunshine Kingdom, get at least a third of the way through the “Humanity” section.

Done; I finished that “phase” (which is as much as I’ve downloaded, and in fact as much as has been posted of the current revision of the system of questions).

  • Write at least one character history.

I didn’t write any character histories, but I did get a handful of entries and descriptions done. And, more importantly for my future workload, I divided the list of characters into “major” and “minor” characters: “major” characters are those who will almost certainly appear in and influence the storyline of something planned on my outline, and so need histories and biographies written, but “minor” characters aren’t likely to appear, and so don’t need such. As I made these lists, I moved the history and biography tasks for “minor” characters from my task “backlog” to what Tracker calls the “icebox,” which has significantly reduced the amount of work piled up for me.

  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

No fiction, no, as usual. My prose went to schoolwork.

And while I was rearranging my task tracker, I also realized that the “snowflake outlining” (which was the next subcategory to come up in the “worldbuilding” category after I ran out of culture-fractalling tasks) was not the sort of thing I would want to do all in a row for one book, so I started rearranging them to put all of the “step 2” tasks before the “step 3” tasks, and so on.

Now, tasks for the next month:

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).
  • Finish POV assignments for The Dragon Returns, create a logline for it, and get at least a quarter of the way through outlining it by sequence.
  • Answer at least four of the “Wrede questions” that I postponed when I went through the list a few years ago.
  • Complete the second step of “snowflake outlining” for Sunshine Civil War and Stone of Power.
  • Write at least one character history.
  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

As always, we’ll see how the month turns out.

Leave a Reply

