Strategic Primer: Thirteenth Turn Summary

The current campaign of Strategic Primer recently finished its thirteenth turn. Today’s post summarizes the turn, to the extent one can without revealing the players’ secrets.

It’s been ten months since the end of the last turn. Since that turn took a little over a year to resolve, and the previous about a year and a half, this is progress.

Last turn, I announced that I intend to start accounting for living space as a constraint on population size, rather than food surpluses alone. This is still my intention; other constraints will follow, but not next turn or the following.

Players who had begun mining before this turn saw their results change—largely for the better, I think—as I began using my new model.

A couple of players also saw a small portion of their food stockpile spoil. I have not yet put my most recent model officially into effect; this spoilage was still ruled in an ad-hoc manner, but I hope to have a firmer footing by the time I come to that point in running the next turn.

Two advances were added to the Starting Package this turn: Food Gatherer and Haying.

As unfortunately seems to be usual, when running the turn I again found and corrected a handful of minor arithmetic errors in previous turns’ results.

This coming turn is the last in the game-world year.

In last turn’s results I reported that

Several players have gained workers with mostly-untrained talent for one variety of “applied metaphysics”. With experience (self-training), those workers will eventually enable the players to “discover” metaphysical “advances” that will allow the player to train others and use applied metaphysics to their advantage.

Unfortunately, none of this turn’s newcomers that the generator said had a level in some Job had stats that suggested talent in these areas. However, I have now selected the areas of applied metaphysics that are open to each player (and I have one lucrative area that I thought of after assigning all of them, just in case a new player wishes to join the campaign!)

Players’ pace of technological discovery accelerated again, after seemingly almost stalling (by comparison) last turn. And two players discovered advances beyond the general_1 specialty, which is for advances that are not restricted to a particular area of research and do not require “industrial technology.” However, not even those players are really anywhere near opening up general_3, which is for “space-age” technology.

For the past few turns, following player demand, I’ve given statistics to suggest where the players stand in relation to each other. First, population: The highest population is 200, and the lowest is 26. The average (i.e. mean) is about 82, the median is 66, and the standard deviation is about 55.

And next, the number of advances discovered: There are 48 advances in the Starting Package that every player starts with. At present the player with the fewest number of advances discovered has 104, and the player with the most has almost 300. The average is about 140, the median is about 115, and the standard deviation is about 70.

This may have been the most exciting turn yet; it looks like I’ll have to make the AI players step up their game to keep up! Unfortunately, some of the most exciting developments were ideas that only one player had, that I thus can’t share here. I look forward to seeing what the players come up with next. If you’d like to join the campaign, please get in touch with me.

Leave a Reply

