Writing Status Update (#29)

In the month since my last update (which I combined with a civil-year-end retrospective and goal-setting post) I’ve made a little progress on the development of background material for the Shine Cycle. And so it’s about time for another status report.

Last month, in addition to my goals for the year, I set goals for the month. I’ll consider each in turn.

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).

I failed on this point as of the last four weeks in my task tracker only two recorded any real progress, and only this past week showed any truly substantial progress.

  • Outline at least the rest of The Longest War by sequence.

I made progress toward this, but only a few very small steps.

  • In fractalling the culture of the Empire and the Sunshine Kingdom, get at least a third of the way through the “Reality” section.

This I did; in fact, this past week I finished that section entirely. (Partly because I got ahead of where my task tracker thought I was, and so kept looking for where the “current task” ended and speeding up to try to be able to check it off.)

  • Write at least one character history.

I did manage to finish one character history.

  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

None.

I’ll adapt the same goals for the next month:

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).
  • Outline at least the rest of The Longest War by sequence.
  • In fractalling the culture of the Empire and the Sunshine Kingdom, get at least a third of the way through the “Humanity” section.
  • Write at least one character history.
  • Write at least a hundred words of “actual prose.”

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

