Writing status update (#25)

It’s been a month since my last report, so it’s time for another update, which can perhaps be summed up best in a wordless sigh. But to give more details than that, let’s look at the goals I set a month ago:

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).

For the first couple of weeks, I was able to maintain regular progress, but that fell by the wayside the last week or two.

  • Outline at least the rest of The Longest War by sequence.

Umm … no. In fact, I am if anything farther behind than when I started. I did get my outline-by-sequence through the end of the second “volume” of The Longest War, but when it came to the last third, which covers the same time period as the “Game of Life” sub-series, after finding myself stalled for days I realized that my previous idea was not going to work, so I threw it out entirely and started afresh. But that means I need to pick a new POV character or characters for that section and come up with the way the story should go. Or simply move on to a different planned novel.

  • In fractalling the culture of the Empire and the Sunshine Kingdom, get at least to the end of the “Communal Identity” subsection.

I made some progress, but this proved more difficult than I’d thought. Partly, I hadn’t realized (even though the questions have the word “fractalling” in the name!) when I was preparing my task list that this section drilled down a level further than everything previous.

  • Write at least four character histories.

I did manage three character histories.

  • Write at least a couple of hundred words of “actual prose.”

Again, no.

Because my failures (other than the usual) came down largely to “more difficult than anticipated,” I’ll actually make my goals for the coming month the same as they were last month:

  • Continue regular work on Shine Cycle development (the prerequisite for any substantial progress at all).
  • Outline at least the rest of The Longest War by sequence.
  • In fractalling the culture of the Empire and the Sunshine Kingdom, get at least to the end of the “Communal Identity” subsection.
  • Write at least four character histories.
  • Write at least a couple of hundred words of “actual prose.”

I do have high hopes to exceed some of these. But we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

