Ashes

For dust I am, and to dust I shall return.

I am dead, and my life is hidden with Christ in God.

Indeed, my only comfort in life and death is

That I am not my own, but belong, body and soul, in life and in death, to my faithful Savior Jesus Christ. He has fully paid for all my sins with his precious blood, and set me free from the power of the devil. He also watches over me in such a way that not a hair can fall from my head without the will of my heavenly Father. In fact, all things must work together for my salvation. Because I belong to him, Christ, by his Holy Spirit, assures me of eternal life and makes me wholeheartedly willing and ready from now on to live for him.

And in light of this, I ought not to live flippantly or lightly, according to the pattern of this rebellious world.

For dust I am, and to dust I shall return. And so shall all my works, unless they be not my works at all. A time is coming when the earth and the heavens shall be shaken, and my every thought, word, and deed shall be tested with fire.

But I am not my own; I have been bought at a price, and I belong to Jesus Christ, from whose care not even I can separate me.

Therefore, these forty days each year before the anniversary of the Resurrection, I ought to reflect and meditate on these truths, and on the sufferings of the Christ by which my redemption was accomplished. As he set his face toward Jerusalem, so I ought to, as the author of the book of Hebrews says, fix my eyes on him, casting aside every hindrance and weight.

For dust I am, and to dust I shall return. And I am not my own, but belong to Jesus Christ, having been bought at a price.

One thought on “Ashes

Leave a Reply

