“Canopy”

“Is there a canopy for me?” I’ve often cried,
Or must I wait until the trumpet sounds the end?
But I know all too well how poor a prize I’d be,
And so must, silent, to (at last) learn patience, wait
Until he comes Who has sufficed and shall suffice.
Instead of seeking wondrous signs in every face
On which his glory rested for a space of time,
I ought each day, most cheerfully, to set my face
Toward the work—more than enough—he’s set before me.

When I was looking forward over my possible schedule, some months back, I had in mind to write an at least tangentially “Valentine’s Day-themed” poem for today, even though I wrote one such poem in 2007, and collected sixty-six of my poems with the theme of “love” in my “Poetry Archive” experiment. But when the time came, earlier this week, all I had was a fragment consisting of the first couple of lines above (not quite in that form) that had been rattling around in my mind for weeks or months. I’m glad that the subsequent lines flowed quickly when I put my mind to writing my thoughts down.

As always, I earnestly welcome your comments, suggestions, questions, critique, or other feedback about this or any other part of my work. If you liked this, you can follow this blog, which includes one of my poems every Friday, or read other poems I’ve written here on my blog (starting with those linked from one of the “archive” installments, since the full archive is by now, at over two hundred poems, somewhat daunting); I’d especially like to know, as part of my preparations for a collection, which poems you think are my best. You may also share it with others, subject to my sharing policy.

This is also archived on my wiki.

Leave a Reply

