“Courage”

I am not such a man of sterling courage
As to daily march into the dark
To battle, with but pick and lamp and song,
Against the world beneath the mountainside.

Nor am I gifted (yet) with such a faith
That I could follow thinnest silken thread
Wherever it may lead, both high and low
And heedless of what seem like countless perils
Threatening my steps, in fervent trust
Solely because I trust the giver’s promise.

Oh! to have such courage, show such faith—
Though I would tremble to no more than think
Of all that gaining them might well involve.
To strengthen virtue, to stamp out vice,
Is long and painful work in any age,
But in a time that frowns upon the good
And holds its base desires in high esteem,
So much the more, and to the Nth degree.
May God give my poor soul the strength and grace
To stand, withstand, endure, and profit from
The purifying trials I know must come.

This is another poem that began with late-night wandering thoughts, in this case circling round the story of The Princess and the Goblin, which I last re-read a year or two ago (and referred to indirectly in the poem Stories.)

As always, I earnestly welcome your comments, suggestions, questions, critique, or other feedback about this or any other part of my work. If you liked this, you can follow this blog, which includes one of my poems every Friday, or read other poems I’ve written here on my blog (starting with those linked from one of the “archive” installments, since the full archive is by now, at over two hundred poems, somewhat daunting); I’d especially like to know, as part of my preparations for a collection, which poems you think are my best. You may also share it with others, subject to my sharing policy.

This is also archived on my wiki.

One thought on ““Courage”

Leave a Reply

