“Banner”

How fervently do we salute the flag
That over our fair country now has flown
So many scores of years! It’s fitting, but
This wisp of cloth is not our true defense,
Nor to it do we owe our first allegiance.
For the Lord’s our Banner, he our shade
Beneath whom we can always safely stand.

I wrote this poem this past Memorial Day, after the morning’s observances in our town, and held it in reserve for the week of Independence Day. I had thought of adding another stanza or a few more lines, but eventually decided to post it without further change.

As always, I earnestly welcome your comments, suggestions, questions, critique, or other feedback about this or any other part of my work. (In other words, if you liked this poem, or you didn’t like it, or it made you think of something, or … please leave a comment to let me know.) If you liked this, you can follow this blog, which includes one of my poems every Friday, or read other poems I’ve written here on my blog (starting with yesterday’s archive installment, since the full archive is by now, at well over a hundred poems, somewhat daunting); I’d especially like to know, as part of my preparations for a collection, which poems you think are my best. You may also share this poem with others, subject to my sharing policy.

This poem is also mirrored on my wiki.

3 thoughts on ““Banner”

    • You’re welcome. These issues—along with the complementary ones of what a thoroughly Christian society would look like, for my Shine Cycle worldbuilding—are ones I’ve been thinking about quite a bit and working my way through over the past few years, as I’ve discovered (or had pointed out to me) contradictions and unconscious assumptions in my perspective.

Leave a Reply

