“‘Gone, alas'”: my first drabble

As I mentioned earlier, I wrote my first drabble ever a few weeks ago. Since one of the purposes of this blog is to publish any prose I’m not reserving for (I hope) commercial publication, I share it with you today.

“Oh, the days of the Kerry dancing; Oh, the ring of the piper’s tune …” How long is it since I last stepped onto a dance floor? Far too long. But longer still since I last saw my beloved, or shared in conversation with my dearest friends. Some I may not see again within our mortal life.

Oh, how I wish this melancholy fit would pass, and that my mind would leave this rutted circle-track of faded memory. But the song is still repeating there: “Ah, for one of those hours of gladness: Gone, alas, like our youth, too soon!”

Leave a Reply

