“Storm”

God sits enthroned over the storm and flood;
In crash of lightning and in howling wind
His glory and his power are displayed.
But we here, sheltered underneath his hand
From danger in the tempest or in calm,
Must now give thanks: His mercy still extends
To those who still defiantly rebel
As well as those who bear his name and kneel.

This was prompted by recent events here: we had a long line of storms, including a few that produced tornadoes, go slowly across the state a couple of weeks or so ago. But the one place in our local area where a tornado touched down and did damage, there were no deaths or even injuries. For the beginning of the poem I draw, of course, from Psalm 29.

As always, I earnestly welcome your comments, suggestions, questions, critique, or other feedback about this or any other part of my work. (In other words, if you liked this poem, or you didn’t like it, or it made you think of something, or … please leave a comment to let me know.) If you liked this, you can also read other poems I’ve written here on my blog (starting with yesterday’s archive installment, since the the full archive is by now, at well over a hundred poems, somewhat daunting); I’d especially like to know which poems you think are my best.

This poem is also archived on my wiki. If you like it, you are also encouraged to share it with others, subject to my sharing policy.

Leave a Reply

