“O silvery moonbeam”

O silvery moonbeam, come shine on my mirror
And lay a broad path for me over the land;
Oh, carry me up to your Garden of Dreaming,
And there let me sit at the side of my love.
Come, bear me away as I turn in my cold bed,
Where I lie alone in the silence of night,
And carry me off to your meadow of joy,
To meet with the friends I’ve not seen in so long.

I wrote this almost a year ago, when I was first finding my voice in alternative meters, when I was finding a lot of material to write about in nature, and (most relevant to this poem) my family was reading Roverandom. I’m not convinced that this poem is finished, really, but I can’t think of how to continue it, so to prepare for posting it today I merely cleaned it up and regularized the meter.

I always welcome your comments, critique, suggestions (perhaps a real title for this?, or any other feedback on this poem or any other part of my work. (In other words, if you like it, if you don’t like it, if something “works”, if something “doesn’t work”, if it makes you think of something or someone, etc., please say so!) If you like this, you can subscribe to this blog, which includes one of my poems every Friday; you can also read other poems I’ve written here on my blog (or if that list is too intimidating, I’m posting more manageable subsets, like yesterday’s installment), so you can just start with those); I’d particularly like to know which poems you think are my best.

This poem is also posted on my wiki.

Leave a Reply

