“Lingering Winter”

Each Friday I post a new poem.

How fitting that this year, when Easter comes
So late within our circuit ’round the sun,
That springtime’s happy warmth is also late,
The winter lingers long upon the earth,
And somber cold remains, perhaps, until
The yearly celebration of Christ’s victory,
The Resurrection Sunday, comes at last.

I wrote this yesterday afternoon, after this week’s weather showed last week’s poem to have been somewhat premature; the first few lines had been turning over in my head for several days.

As always, I earnestly welcome your comments, suggestions, questions, critique, or other feedback about this or any other part of my work. You can also read other poems I’ve posted here on my blog.

This poem is also posted on my wiki.

Leave a Reply

