“I greet the spring”

Each Friday I post a poem.

I greet the spring; the seasons turn at last.
How happy I to feel the sunlight’s rays,
A gentle, warming breeze, upon my face,
The sounds of birdsong creeping in my ear,
And in the air a scent of flowering blooms.
I felt the winter, dark, would never end,
That every week would bring more ice and slush,
That every night would heap more snow upon us,
And every day dawn dreary, dark, and cold.
But now that spirit-crushing weight has passed
And God has lent us light and joy again.

I wrote this today after my first trip outside since the weather started seriously warming up. As always, I welcome your comments, critique, suggestions (perhaps for a real title for this poem?), or any other feedback on this poem or any other part of my work. You can also read other poems I’ve written on my blog, including a somewhat similar poem last spring.

This poem is also posted on my wiki.

Leave a Reply

