“Moonlit Reverie”

Each Friday I post a poem.

I wonder: is that moonlight shining in,
Or is it only streetlamps’ silver glow
That streams in through my window, fills my room?
Some streetlights are more likely than the moon,
For when have moonbeams glowed with such a blue
Or shone so strongly from a southern view?
Yet let me dream it was the silver moon
Who shot soft rays of light upon my walls,
And let those moonbeams carry me away
To some fair forest meadow in the spring.

This came to me sometime late last fall, when I was lying awake too late at night. It almost “wrote itself”; I only cleaned up a few places where the rhythm stumbled a little or the meter became too irregular.

As always, I welcome your comments, critique, suggestions, or any other feedback on this poem or any other part of my work. You can also read other poems I’ve written on my blog.

This poem is also posted on my wiki.

One thought on ““Moonlit Reverie”

  1. This is my favorite so far! I’ve only read three at the moment. The title made me excited. I immediately thought of Paul Revere looking out his bedroom window, probably because Revere and reverie and because he rode through the night…

    “Yet let me dream it was the silver moon
    Who shot soft rays of light upon my walls,
    And let those moonbeams carry me away”

    That was the best part, very celestial!

Leave a Reply

