“Incarnation”

Each Friday I post a poem, until I run out.

How shall we speak of him
To whom all times are one?
Before he first breathed life
Into our parent’s mouth,
Before he lit the moon
Or taught the stars to sing,
Before his first command
Set glorious light ablaze,
All was already planned:
That the transcendent God
Would become mortal flesh
For fallen mortals’ sake
And for his great glory.
How gracious he who there
Stepped down and into time,
Exchanging light for flesh,
Bright glory for frailty,
To be his covering.

I wrote this earlier this week so that I’d have something seasonally fitting to post today, but this idea has been bouncing around in my head for a long time now. For some reason this poem came to me in this unusual (for me) meter.

As always, I earnestly welcome your comments, suggestions, critique, or other feedback about this or any other part of my work. You can also read other poems I’ve posted here on my blog.

This poem is also posted on my wiki.

Leave a Reply

