“Crisp Memories”

Each Friday I post a poem from my archives, until I run out.

How brisk and crisp I feel the autumn breeze!
How sudden its chill touch has brought to mind
Fond memories of autumn days long past:
A meeting of minds, a new friend discovered,
There under the stars, out down by the lake,
Talking and thinking deep thoughts together,
Long—but too short a time—into the night,
The stars in heaven telling God’s glory,
Also ablaze in the face of a friend.
Oh, to live that night and that talk again!
Memories of times now lost wash over me:
How grateful I that in those autumn eves
God’s people took this solitary soul
Away from lonesome meals alone, apart
And brought me into joyful fellowship.
How could I then be sorrowful or sad?
All praise to God for these his mighty acts!

This poem began to form in my mind the first time this fall a chill autumn breeze kissed my cheek, as I was walking the block or so to church, prompting memories. The memories I describe in this poem are fond, familiar ones, and I’ve written poems about them before: “Second Sight” and “A Vision of the City”. This poem also shows a subtle shift in the sort of poetry that’s coming to me, at least in form: Blank verse has long been my default mode, and it seemed like I could write unrhymed iambic pentameter indefinitely. But this poem, and a few other recent pieces, has an irrepressible rhythm far closer to waltzing dactyls than walking iambs.

In any case, as always I welcome your comments, critique, suggestions, or any other feedback on this poem or any other part of my work. You can also read other poems I’ve written on my blog.

This poem is also posted on my wiki.

Leave a Reply

