“On Falling In Love”

On Fridays I post poetry from my archive, until I run out.

It is like an epiphany.
One moment there is nothing beyond
Ordinary, earthly, commonplace beauty
To attract me to her. Then,
In a flash of light or insight
Some portion of the glory of the Lord
Descends upon the temple of the Holy Spirit,
Burning into my mind so fiercely the image
That even every memory is tinged
With the radiance
Reflected from the heavenlies.
The arbitrary spiritual theotokos
Becomes as the messenger of the covenant:
Every word bound up in glory,
And she is now one I delight in.

I probably wrote this the spring of my freshman year of college. It was sparked by an experience I had during Epiphany of that year.

As always, I earnestly welcome your comments, suggestions, critique, or other feedback about this or any other part of my work.

Also posted on my wiki.

2 thoughts on ““On Falling In Love”

  1. If I might suggest and do not take this wrong. I like the content and style. It could be improved.

    Do not provide background to the poem and careful about using words like epiphany – you might hear people go…riiiight…

    Let them discover and relish your poem. Resist the temptation to guide their discovery.

    If you are writing this for the lay people, then dispense with words like “theotokos” as nobody is going to look up a dictionary.

    Sorry if I am harsh but you do have potential. Feel free to delete this comment after reading.

    Peace, Eric

  2. As a reader, I find background information about poems (such as their context or the circumstances in which they were written) interesting and (at least occasionally) helpful, especially if I know the poet personally or am particularly familiar with his or her life and work, so I’m quite resolved to continue including such information with my own poems. (In a collection I’d put these data in an appendix, rather than immediately following each poem, but this medium is somewhat more constrained on that front.)

    As a matter of personal style and preference, I strive to “speak” precisely and concisely; I used “epiphany” and “theotokos” in this poem deliberately and advisedly, as no synonyms carry the rich meaning I intended. (And within my expected audience—mostly fellow students at Calvin College—neither word should have been all that obscure, so long as I don’t write “theotokos” in Greek characters.)

Leave a Reply

