“The Beatific Vision”

On Fridays I post my poetry, until I run out.

I look across the space between us two,
Seeing nothing but the ordinary,
Feeling like a cold investigator
Without a vested emotional tie.
Suddenly I gasp aloud in wonder:
A nearly-blinding dawn arrests my eye.
Everything is changed — even memory,
For the reflected glory tinges all,
Coating her image, even recollected,
With borrowed splendor from the Mighty One.

I probably wrote this poem my freshman or sophomore year of college. I’m posting it here and on my wiki. As always, I eagerly invite and gladly welcome your feedback of any kind on this poem or any of the rest of my work.

2 thoughts on ““The Beatific Vision”

Leave a Reply

