“The Romantic’s Lament”

How long, O Lord? Must I remain alone forever?
I am never alone, for you are always with me,
But in the garden that you had planted,
Walking with the man that you had made,
You said “It is not good for the man to be alone.”

How long, O Lord? Must I remain alone forever?
So many times I have been teased
By ever brighter beacons in the night,
Each as a lighthouse on the shore
Reflecting your glory to me at sea—
And I loved. But never has one been a harbor,
Never have I found comfort or shelter.
I am driven by the waves, tossed before the wind,
Sailing from calm to calm, eyes scarcely adjusting
As the light of one beloved lighthouse moves away
And passes, scarcely dimmed, beyond the horizon
And I am plunged again into only star-lit night
Before the next shining tower appears
To blind me to all other lights.

How long, O Lord? Must I remain alone forever?
As the thirsty deer pants for water in the desert,
So my heart longs and my flesh aches
For God and his image, and the completion of my soul.
For each image of God I have seen in glory
Has passed by unknowing, blind to herself in my eyes.
I feel my inner self will die of hunger
And my outer of a broken heart,
Before I am given some surcease of sorrow.

How long, O Lord? Must I remain alone forever?
Oh, let me see glory henceforth
Only in the face of her for whom I was made!
I have poured out my tears too many times
Upon the unkindness or unseeing of your images,
“O Love all loves excelling”—
So let me love again only my helpmate.

Nothing in this poem is particularly new for me; I probably wrote it sometime my junior or senior year of college, but this is basically just another reworking of the same theme as nearly all the poetry I wrote in that period. On the other hand, quite a bit of the imagery in this poem is either new or in a new form.

In any case, besides this blog, I’ve now posted this poem on my wiki. As always, I eagerly welcome your feedback of any kind (though the more substantial the better), including questions, comments, critique, or suggestions (especially of what to post next, since I’m running out of old material).

One thought on ““The Romantic’s Lament”

Comments are closed.