“Hold! Fleeting instant”

Relatively hot off the presses (written less than an hour before I scheduled this post), this is the first new poem I’ve posted to this blog so far.

Hold! Fleeting Instant, stay a little while!
If all that mortal science and study knows
Cannot make Time retreat a single hour
From his unyielding march for any price,
Will you, his daughters coy, but tarry here?
Relent! In spans of grief, heartache, and pain
You linger ever ’round our anguished woe,
But now, while joy is bright, you flee our midst?
Leave us not; “Fickle Moment, prithee, stay!”

This poem is the first poem (other than the sonnets for dear but absent friends’ birthdays and the Epithalamion I wrote in the last days of July) I’ve written in many months. The quote in the last line (which is actually what started the whole thing in my brain) is from The Mikado. I’ve also posted it to my wiki. Feedback of any kind, including criticism, compliments, questions, suggestions (especially for a real title or what to post next), or anything else, is eagerly requested and greatly appreciated.

2 thoughts on ““Hold! Fleeting instant”

  1. JONATHAN:
    INSTANT IN THE TITLE NEEDS A CAPITAL “I”.
    WHEN I FIRST READ YOUR POEM IT THREW ME FOR A HARD CURVE.
    “FROM HIS UNYIELDING” I WAS CONFUSED…WHO WAS HE ?
    THEN I REALIZED THAT TIME WAS A MAN (FATHER TIME)
    THEN SUDDENLY HE HAD COY DAUGHTERS ???
    ANYWAY , FUNNY HOW TIME CAN BE YOUR FRIEND OR YOUR FOE.
    KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.
    mm

    • Thanks for your comment.

      I’ve left “instant” uncapitalized in the “title” because this poem still needs a proper title; I reserve the “All Important Words are Capitalized” style for real titles and use the newspaper-headline style (capitalizing only the first words of sentences) for ones using their first lines in place of titles.

      In this poem, I’m not intending to go so far as to personify Time (which would involve describing him, perhaps, as an “aged man / With speed and strength his bearded face conceals” or a “slender youth / With ageless face and wit beyond his years”), but merely to anthropomorphize the concept enough to refer to it with personal pronouns and speak of the “fleeting Instant” and “fickle Moment” as his daughters.

      Glad you liked it! There are many more of my poems on this blog, mostly in a style more or less like this, and a new one each Friday.

Leave a Reply

